PDA

View Full Version : My first website

conservatorysurveyor
06-07-2011, 11:04 AM
Hi all

I've just launched my first website (conservatorysurveyor.co.uk) and i could do with some unbiased reviews. I know its not a real professional site but I'm just learning.
Thanks in anticipation

steve

KristineS
06-07-2011, 01:07 PM
The first thing I'd do is get rid of the Google ads on the bottom of your site. They're just an option to pull people away from your site, and they don't tend to make a site look very professional.

Also, what's the link to the Hot vs. Not Directory? I think you need to get rid of stuff like that as it detracts from your message.

vangogh
06-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Welome to the forum Steve. Here are a few thoughts after taking a quick look through your site.

Overall it seems fine. I won't say it's anything special or memorable, but it's certainly laid out well and presents a professional image. I'd think twice about the light text on a darker background. In general I don't have a hard time reading, but it's not as easy to read were it dark text on a light background, which provides better contrast.

The text on the home page reads too much about you and not enough about me. Put the focus on your customer. The second paragraph has a space to start which I assume is a type. I also think there's more info on the page than necessary. Some of it might work better on pages dedicated to the information. Your home page doesn't need to close the sale. It mainly needs to direct people deeper into the site where they want to go.

The planning page content could use some hierarchy. I'd like to see some headlines to make the page easier to scan. It looks like the content is mainly a list, but it's not presented as a list. It's presented as single sentence paragraphs with too much space in between. It doesn't come across as inviting to read.