PDA

View Full Version : Adobe release a free service to check your site's design cross browser: broserLab

websonalized
06-04-2011, 11:42 PM
As a web designer I have to check my design in at least 7 different browsers. This can be headache...

Well, adobe just release BrowserLab. This online application lets me enter a url and indicate which browsers I want to use for the checking, and in a few minutes, it gives me snapshots of what was rendered in each browser I indicated.

neat uh?

tylerhutchinson
06-05-2011, 12:20 AM
so is this an add-on to dreamweaver or is it a free program you can download? This could be handy. I hate checking in different browsers. What about mobile? Does it happen to render an image for phones and tablets?

billbenson
06-05-2011, 01:11 AM
Looks like its a DW plugin:

https://browserlab.adobe.com/en-us/index.html#

It wouldn't make sense for Adobe if it didn't require one of their programs. I don't think very many designers here use dreamweaver. I know cb_creative does but I don't really recall anybody else? I hard code everything I do.

Actually its kind of interesting how few peoople use DW. Everybody used it years ago. Its how I started 10 plus years ago.

Patrysha
06-05-2011, 11:08 AM
Browser Shots is a website that does a similar thing...you go in a type in your url and within a few minutes you'll have screenshots from all over the world from different systems.

vangogh
06-05-2011, 11:22 AM
Browser Labs has been around for awhile now. It seems like a good service, though to use it you have to sign up and create an Adobe account. Browser Labs is currently free, but sometime next year it looks like Adbobe will be charging for the service. It's a good solution to browser testing if you don't have other ways to test across browsers and operating systems.