PDA

View Full Version : brand new to forum and to accoounting and need help/advise

riverbank
04-01-2011, 03:07 AM
Hello
I will try to make this as easy as possible. I have reently started my own business. It is third party property management company. I also do maintenance and repairs for owners who properties I do not manage.
I have limited experience with basic accounting, but once my chart of accounts is properly set up I should have no problems entering transactions.
My problem I am having is with some owners I will purchase materials upfront and then later invoice them with the labour costs. I do not raise the price of the materials basically just flip the cost back to them. I am using the cash accounting system.
So how would I enter the materials I purchased for him, so my deposit would match.
I also figure I would have to seperate things since not all of it is earnings and I do not want to pay tax on the total of the cheque, just the labour costs.
I am so sorry I know this is a stupid question but I am stumped and pulling my hair out.
The person that was going to handle the accounting set up for me has backed out and now I am stuck.

Duston McGroarty
04-01-2011, 10:11 PM
I wasn't going to try to answer this earlier but I didn't want to leave you
hanging with no answers...

I'm by no means an accounting guy but I would suggest using a program
like Quickbooks or Microsoft Money. Then hire an accountant to hash out
all your tax stuff just be sure to note in each transaction exactly what it's
for (property address, type of material, etc.).

Hope that helps a little!

Evan
04-01-2011, 11:11 PM
You'd want to use an accounting system to really manage everything, and QuickBooks would be the best choice. Peachtree is another option (MS Money is a discontinued product, and was for personal finances), but I don't personally care for its interface.

One important thing to note that cash basis does not "match" anything. It's based on the receipt or payment of cash.