PDA

View Full Version : Is Your Business Your Main Source Of Income?

KingHippo
10-03-2008, 04:14 AM
Is your business your main source of income? Can you support yourself entirely from the money you make from your business?

Patrysha
10-03-2008, 10:03 AM
Yes and No....

It is my source of income but not the family's only source of income. At the moment it couldn't sustain us for very long, but I'm working towards it. It has kept us going through some tough times, enough to keep our head above water during periods where my husband was unemployed for short stretches...

vangogh
10-03-2008, 10:59 AM
Yes and yes. My business is my only source of income and I've been supporting myself working only for myself for about the last 5 years. In the beginning it was more of a struggle, but if you hang in there you can learn how to do what you do better and build your business until it is supporting you.

Dan Furman
10-03-2008, 05:05 PM
Yes, my business is my only source of income. I'm including books there, but they are almost a non-entity in comparison to the copywriting (books pay WAY less than people think.)

My wife works a job (she's a legal assistant.) We get health insurance through her for now, but she works more for the "extra", etc - my efforts could support us both pretty easily (I make more now than we did combined when we both had jobs.)

I'm also very proud of the fact that I built this business from nothing (I didn't leave a job to go into the same business, had industry contacts, etc - I had zero in that respect). Every client (and by extension, referral) of mine started off by searching for what I do, finding my website, and was then converted (not that it's any less doing it the other way, mind you - but I'm just as happy it worked out the way it did.)

vangogh
10-03-2008, 09:19 PM