PDA

View Full Version : Auto Detail/Paint Refinishing Needs Help! Ideas, etc.

Pat@apexauto
03-15-2011, 04:48 PM
Hey guys, names pat. Last month I left my job at a collision center down here in georgia, basically frustrated with the experiences I've had coming out of technical school for auto body and paint refinishing. I only worked for two shops down in georgia, at the first one, although there was no advancement over the course of two years of working there..I did learn how to buff cars by one of the best buffers I had ever seen..I studied my teacher in that as a detailer/porter, and when I was tired of waiting for advancement...the skills that I had picked up from him allowed me to get a job as the lead buffer at a different collision center. I've always wanted to get into business ownership, my real goal was to become a painter whether for a shop, or on my own terms..after looking into the requirements and how much it costs to get a paint shop up and running, about two months ago I had an epiphany that I could start an auto detail shop, something that I was good at and well versed in. I wrote my business plan and came up with a way that we could be distinctly different from a traditional detail place. My business is for car enthusiasts in particular..and because I'm coming from the collision field, it's been difficult to provide examples of work that i've done seeing as though I have no contact with the hundreds of cars i've buffed. Our concept is based mainly on contracting with other companies and memberships from customers. basically the automotive version of costco. we offer the best prices because the members and their commitments will allow us to do so. on to my questions. which i have many.