PDA

View Full Version : Teaching entrepreneurship through Mathematics

boogle
03-11-2011, 10:41 AM
Alright, so I have been hired through Teach for America to begin teaching at a Title 1 Middle School this Fall. I will be teaching Math. I have been teaching in one capacity or the other for several years now, although mostly in the field of music.

I, nor most people I know enjoyed math, especially not in Middle School. Frankly, if you look at how it is being taught, a lot of classes are legitimately pretty boring. Standards have forced teachers to take the "beat in their head" approach and it is not doing anyone any good, but not here to talk politics :)...

I am going to have students work in groups to start their own business (theoretically of course) Right now I am thinking they can choose between a Restaurant, Clothing Store, Music Store, or Sporting store.

They will have to survey people and do market research and graph results, look and dealers and compare potential sales to benefits of bulk purchasing, look at expenses and create profit/loss charts, decide what products to carry etc.

They will also design their store inside and out and study marketing through probability and percentages.

What I need help with is expanding my own knowledge of market research and the math that goes into anticipating competition, sales, profits, and traffic. Any pointers or resources would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Spider
03-11-2011, 10:52 AM
That sounds to me like an excellent approach. Everyone likes to play games, so making math a game is very appropriate. It will also help create the idea that business IS a game, and a very enjoyable game at that. I suggest you make it competitive - which team can make the most profit, who can help the most customers, who can create the most value, etc.

Don't forget ALL the stakeholders - business owners, shareholders, management, employees, customers, suppliers.