PDA

View Full Version : Need help starting the right way

bigluelok
02-25-2011, 06:58 PM
I am new to the small business world. I am starting a small t-shirt store online based on Honda enthusiast and want to do this the right way. I have a simple site at the moment and am working on making it better.

What do I have to do to get started the right way in California?

mettro2
03-02-2011, 12:02 PM
Congratulations on your new business. So what exactly do you mean when you say "the right way"?

jpohl
03-03-2011, 10:45 AM
I second Mettro2's request for more info. I am going to assume though that you yourself are a Honda enthusiast. That will probably be your key to success. By that I mean that you do anything and everything that a Honda enthusiast would do. You go to the Honda gatherings and network. You make sure that you hang out in forums where other enthusiasts hang out, answer questions, ask questions and generally be part of the community. Don't be salesy. Be real.

if you are looking for help on traffic for a web site. There are a lot of directions you can go but making sure you have an SEO friendly site is the first step. You can do a google search and find tips for that. If you are going to the meetups for Honda owners, I would definately get some business cards made up with your site URL displayed in big letters.

Business Attorney
03-04-2011, 07:06 PM
One suggestion: Make sure that you don't build your business based on trademark infringement. Unless you have a license or other permission from Honda, don't try using the Honda name in your business name or URL. Sell only licensed goods. I have seen people think that they have built a great business online only to have it disappear when they get the cease and desist order from the trademark owner.

crm
03-07-2011, 01:06 AM