PDA

View Full Version : First-time salesman

Coco
02-24-2011, 09:43 AM
Dear all,
I've come to this site since I am in desperate need of some advice. I have several years of experience with a particular instrument and recently contacted the makers of that instrument to ask them if they would be interested in representing them in the continent that I live (which is different than the continent where they come from). Turns out that they are very interested to establish "a cooperation" with me.

Now I had assumed that if I were to work with these guys I would have a contract, regular pay and reimbursement for traveling in order to find clients.

But they ask questions such as such as if I would start a company to be their official agent and what sort of commission would I expect? The instrument in question is a huge investment for any particular client and each one costs thew equivalent of 2-3 years of regular pay.

What to do?:confused:

billbenson
02-24-2011, 10:40 AM
Your going to have to give some more details for us to help you much. What's an instrument? Guitar, test instrument, financial instrument? What do you mean by continent? Are you in the US, if not where.

Assuming you are in the US are you a direct employee? If so they will pay you salary or commission or both. It sounds more like you will be a manufacturers representative in which case they probably won't help you with travel expenses. They will just pay you a percentage of each sale.

huggytree
02-24-2011, 10:45 AM
why not ask them what they meant?

id ask for more $$ than your currently making......

find out how much travel you should expect

living on commission only is a scary thing...they have all the advantages and you get none

J from Michigan
02-24-2011, 08:09 PM
Huggytree is right, commission can be scary. Scary yet thrilling at the same time...
You can go a week without making a dime, and you can make thousands by noon on a Monday... that's the "carrot on the stick" that keeps you going.