PDA

View Full Version : Teaching kids programming and robotics

tomx
02-11-2011, 02:06 PM
I have been a software engineer for more than 12 years. I love programming and I found LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT (bought one for my 9 year old) is a great way to teach kids how to program. I am thinking to start a business to teach kinds programming and robotics in my spare time (e.g. weekends at the beginning). Not sure if there is demand and how much money I can make, but like to see what you guys think about this idea. Any input is welcome!

Tom

Steve B
02-12-2011, 05:02 AM
My kid (age 12) was on the school's robotics team for a couple years (using the Lego system). One year they had a teacher that was helpful, the next year their teacher didn't know how to do anything and the kids had to learn it on their own. They went to the state competition each year.

I really don't know who would hire you however. These are public schools that wouldn't have the money and just got one of the teachers to be a sponsor of the group. Maybe some of the private schools would, or you could offer it to kids that are home schooled.

Nomad
02-12-2011, 09:40 AM
My oldest son (14) loves to program at RoadBlox. I think there are a lot of kids interested, just like my friends and I were way back in the mid-80's. However, our high school offers programming (JAVA, C+, etc) and our local community college offers programming courses in the summer for kids as young as 9. Not sure what your competitive edge would be, but I think there is a definite interest. There will ALWAYS be budding techies out there! Good luck.

vangogh
02-13-2011, 11:49 AM