PDA

View Full Version : Giving your services away

KristineS
09-25-2008, 03:30 PM
I don't yet do a lot of freelancing, but I do write professionally on behalf of the companies for whom I work. A lot of people that I know through forums, blogs, etc. know that I'm a writer. Every so often one of them will ask my opinion on a piece of writing they've done or ask for my help on creating a piece of writing. I don't mind doing it, and I often help, but there's always a little part of me that says "hey, wait, I usually get paid for doing this."

If you're a copywriter, or offer any sort of service, where do you draw the line? When do you say, I'm sorry, I need to charge for this service? Do you have more of a tendency to help out friends rather than strangers?

I'm really not sure how I should handle this. I'd love to hear how the rest of you manage it.

Dan Furman
09-25-2008, 05:50 PM
I sometimes give away a small service to strangers - for example, I had a college student send me an application letter that she wanted edited. I was in a good mood, she was nice, and it only took me about twenty minutes, so I went ahead and did it - she was surprised when I sent it back and said "no charge"... hey, you never know, maybe someday she's in a position to hire a writer for a big job.

But that stuff aside, I really don't do freebies anymore. I just don't have the time. I mean, listen - if my brother REALLY needed an important letter for something, I'd do it. But spruce up a friend's flier? Write a salesletter or a website for free? No can do. I simply do not have the time.

Now, this was pretty easy for me - in my "real life" I set very clear boundaries, and can be quite selfish with my time (for example, don't ask me for a ride to/from the airport so you can cheap out on paying for parking! I did that stuff when I was 22, but no more... and I'll reciprocate by not asking anyone myself.)