PDA

View Full Version : Local taxes vs. State taxes?

hthrlu
01-14-2011, 03:17 PM
I live in Missouri, and the state sales tax rate is 4.225. The local municipality that I live in charges a different sales tax rate. Am I supposed to charge my clients for both local and state taxes? I am a wedding photographer, and this would be for albums, DVDs, prints, etc. Thank you!

Evan
01-14-2011, 11:43 PM
Whether you need to charge sales tax on those items is up to your specific state and municipality laws. But generally, yes there would be two taxes. Your state tax of 4.225%, plus the local tax of X%. They are generally both based off of the total price. So a $100 item's tax would be $4.24 for state, and $100 x local tax rate. (You're not paying tax on tax usually.)

jamesray50
01-14-2011, 11:50 PM
This is exactly why I hate doing sales taxes. Way too confusing when the local municipalities get involved. They don't do that in Kentucky, at least around Lexington they don't. And I'm not aware of other locals in KY charging sales tax.

Evan
01-15-2011, 09:49 PM
Jo Ellen -- the "municipal" income taxes for Kentucky are equally as frustrating.

jamesray50
01-16-2011, 12:54 AM
I am aware of all the local taxes for cities and counties for payroll and income. I mostly dealt with the payroll end of it. I had construction clients that worked in different cities and the major problem I alway ran into was getting the forms I needed. Especially from the smaller cities and counties. Most of them wouldn't mail them and didn't have them online.