PDA

View Full Version : Business Efficiency

raineysky
01-10-2011, 05:54 PM
I have been working in the manufacturing industry for nearly 30 years and have been thinking about starting my own consulting business targeting the SMB owner. One of my strengths has always been in production process optimization and increasing efficiencies in everyday tasks, down to the smallest on the shop floor. I have seen some small business owners who are good at what they do but really don't have the skills or knowledge to successfully bring their business to the next level.

In the large corporations I have worked at we collect data on just about everything and use that information to define process bottlenecks and discover opportunities for process improvements. This usually results in increased operating efficiencies and production which allows management to clearly see where or if capital money should be spent.

My questions is:

1. Would you successful small to medium business owners hire someone like me.

If so,

2. Would you need someone with my skills full-time or part-time.
3. What would be the best business title for that line of work.

Thank You

Steve B
01-10-2011, 08:01 PM
I personally would not. I like to figure things out for myself and tend to discount advice from others anyway, so I would't want to pay for it.

I would think medium sized business would be your market. I just got off the phone with a friend of mine that just completed his first week of doing what you're doing (after quitting the corporate world after 20 years). He has not had any problems finding clients - although he has a business partner that has tons of contacts.

jamesray50
01-10-2011, 11:56 PM
My business is just a home based bookkeeping business and no I wouldn't find a need for your service. Mostly because I couldn't afford it. I depend on advice from Score, members from forums in my industries and this forum.

vangogh
01-11-2011, 12:30 AM