PDA

View Full Version : College Grad - needs $1million loan

BlakMagic
01-01-2011, 08:37 PM
Hello,

Hopefully that title didn't make everyone shake their heads too much.

I just graduated with a B.S. in business management and am looking to possibly purchase a business. I had some questions pertaining to what sort of hurdles I may run into in the loan process.

SBA 504 loan most likely, financed by a bank.

The business I am thinking of purchasing is a existing business of ~40 years with a good cash flow and has been profitable for every year that I have P&L's for (last 4 years).

I have been involved in the industry since high school and worked in it for the past 4 years. I have some very good work experience and a good education background.

Here are my main questions. My net worth is low, and I have no major assets as I just graduated from college a few weeks ago. Obviously that is probably not the ideal circumstances when trying to obtain a loan of this size.

First I am estimating a 15% down payment, based upon a previously 'approved' deal that fell through on this same business. That will be paid for by my family.

Is a bank going to want, and or, require I have a business partner - even if I have the cash for the down payment, but no other real assets. If so any advice on that? My parents would possibly be willing to, if required. Also if a partner was required, how would I go about removing their name from the loan for liability purposes in the future?

I think that is all my general questions in obtaining this large of a loan in my circumstances. Just looking for advice and ideas. Again, I have specialized experience in the industry, the business is proven successful, the SBA default rate on a business in this industry is less than 1% (if any of that even matters :) )