PDA

View Full Version : How do you get customer info?

mobile resolutions
12-30-2010, 11:35 PM
I'm new to the business market and I just wondered if anyone had a great way of getting and maintaining customer lists?

Steve B
12-31-2010, 04:43 AM
I have a feeling you're talking about Prosptective Customer lists. If it's customer lists, then that's easy. I collect that information when I sign them up as a customer. I maintain that list by putting the information in Outlook Contacts.

greenoak
12-31-2010, 09:39 AM
i try to get everyone who comes in on my list....never mess with cold lists unless its on a facebook ad...we do sign ups , drawings, and mine the addresses on the checks.....they want to be on our mailing list so they find out whats gfoing on at the store evernts etc...
as a buyer and on line surfer i dont care for and usualy dont go into sites that make me sign in before i even get a look at what they are offering...

mobile resolutions
12-31-2010, 11:26 AM
I agree Ann...those are some good ideas.

mobile resolutions
12-31-2010, 11:27 AM
@ Steve B - Do you have to input each customers info in Outlook as you receive it or do you havea program that does that for you.

Steve B
12-31-2010, 02:50 PM
I do it as they come in. It all gets written down on a form as I'm talking to them (often on the side of the road in my van). After the job is complete, I enter their information in Outlook. I then can dump it into Excel and sort and do regular mailings, or e-mail newsletters etc.

mobile resolutions
12-31-2010, 03:00 PM
Do you mind if I ask what business industry you are in?

Harold Mansfield
12-31-2010, 04:40 PM
I put everyone in Outlook too. I don't keep info on every person that calls one time, just some notes maybe. Everyone else goes in Outlook with everything I have on them. The more I talk to them the more the info grows.
I even have some people's anniversaries and kids birthdays in their profiles, just from random small talk or quick mentions.