PDA

View Full Version : Directory Listings

jamesray50
11-14-2010, 04:08 PM
How important is it to get listed in directories if you have registered your site on the major search engines? One of them, I don't remember which one, also included several directories and I received emails where I had to confirm my registration. But, they have also included in the email that for a price they can include my website in a lot more directories. I don't use directories when I search for things, I use search engines. Why would I pay to get listed in directories?

BTW - what is the Trackback at the bottom of these messages? And should I add tags to my messages? I guess you can tell I am new to internet marketing.

greenoak
11-14-2010, 06:20 PM
im wondering the same thing..i would just google my search....i dont use directories.[or rss feeds]..but i guess if it pushes up your websites seo that would be a reason... does it do that?

jamesray50
11-14-2010, 07:07 PM
I just checked out your business and the difference between yours and mine are that you are a brick and mortar store that has been around a lot longer than the internet, so you already have a client base. I have just started my business and I work from home, no B & M store front. When I registed on the search engines they said it would take several weeks to pick up my site.

Business Attorney
11-14-2010, 09:07 PM
I am no SEO expert by any means but from what I have seen on this and other forums is that general directories, particularly the free link directories that the submission services would list your site in, have very little value. The search engines do value links, in general, but the reason that they value links is their belief that incoming links validate the website as useful. But not all links are equal. A general directory that takes all - or virtually all - submissions obviously does not carry the same weight for a user that a link from an article on nytimes.com or cnn.com.