PDA

View Full Version : Fitness clothing industry

bturley
10-13-2010, 02:57 AM
Hi, this is my first time ever using a forum like this and want to thank all of you ahead of time for your input and thoughts. I'm considering starting a fitness clothing line starting off with t-shirts being made at a local screen printer. My question is what are your thoughts on the fitness industry as far as clothing? From my research there's not really that much of a market for the fitness industry, people say to follow your passions, well my passion is fitness, clothes, teaching others about fitness. I think anyone who has ever started a business goes through this critical decision of whether or not you'll make it out there in the world, (your product, or service). That's my niche, any thoughts on tying trendy fitness clothing in with a healthy lifestyle approach. Would you wear a fresh new design while working out, and outside the gym. Thanks for your thoughts.! Brad

Steve B
10-13-2010, 04:36 AM
Hi Brad,

I think the basis for your decision is O.K. (following your passion). Now, you have a lot of research to do to find out if you can come up with a viable business model. I don't know anything about manufacturing or selling clothing, so I can't really help on that.

I'm not sure I understand how t-shirts from a local screen printer fits into the category of fitness clothing. Is it a shirt made of special material - or are you talking about a regular t-shirt?

Harold Mansfield
10-13-2010, 08:30 AM
Hi Brad,
I totally agree that you should follow your passions. But I have to disagree that there isn't a big market for such things. From what I see it is a huge market with tons of competition.
Is it possible that you are talking about a different type of fitness/athletic apparel than what I'm thinking about?

Patrysha
10-13-2010, 10:00 AM