PDA

View Full Version : Business idea - website backups

jimr451
09-12-2010, 07:46 PM
Hi all,

I'm a programmer by trade, and find myself often making "backup" copies of client sites, just in case. I've been thinking about creating a website where people can pay a yearly fee to have their website and databases "backed up" automatically.

Now, I realize that many hosting providers already provide this, or at least provide the "means" to do it (cpanel, etc.). However, I think there's a market for cautious website owners who want the added security of an offsite backup for reasons such as: (a) the hosting provider loses the site and/or backups, or (b) the hosting provider's response to restore requests is rather slow. I've seen this happen several times myself.

Anyway, I thought I'd post - would any of you site owners out there pay a yearly fee to have your site automatically backed up? I'm thinking the backups would be accessible online, with multiple versions available, etc.

My thought was that the service would cost something like $60-$75 / year / site, including 2 databases.

I'd love to hear any feedback before I take this any further.

-Jim

Harold Mansfield
09-13-2010, 09:49 AM
In my opinion, the only reason an outside service would work..would be if it's extremely easy to use and extremely easy to implement the back up. Not all companies offer backups, Go daddy for instance seems pretty sketchy about it. I don't know if it's just my clients that didn't have it, or that they don't offer it at all, but I haven't seen it from them.

I think offering a complete package, PC back up, storage of sensitive files, information, databases, and website back would be worth it more than just $60 a year for just your website because odds are most people still won't see the need or the value in such a service and those that do understand, likely have a decent hosting account that covers it.

So I think you should offer them other security options.

billbenson