PDA

View Full Version : Best structure?

LucyP
08-11-2010, 08:46 PM
I will start out by telling you that I have an MBA, so you know I know absolutely nothing about starting a business :p

I am a Kansas resident and preparing to open a small bakery/cupcakery business. My husand and I will be the sole owners, but I am not sure which would be the best option for our business structure - C Corp or S Corp? We are financially conservative and want to protect our home and assets so I am not even considering the sole proprietor option.

I have bought several "Dummy" books on starting a small business, which list out differences, but I am curious as to how most small businesses would approach this.

Spider
08-11-2010, 08:53 PM
Welcome to the forum. Why do you want to start a bakery?

vangogh
08-11-2010, 09:14 PM
Welcome to the forum Lucy. Don't worry, none of us knew much about starting a business at one point.

Have you considered an LLC? The liability is limited, but it would be easier to set up. I don't know too much about corporations. We have a couple of experts here, though so hopefully one of them will find this thread soon. One of them (David) has a lot of information on LLCs on one of his sites.

Limited Liability Company Center (http://www.limitedliabilitycompanycenter.com/)

Might be worth taking a look.

LucyP
08-12-2010, 09:36 AM
Why a bakery? I make fantastic cupcakes and have been filling orders for friends and friends of friends. I have been trying to keep a low profile with this as I don't use a commericial licensed kitchen and am basically "bootlegging" right now. They all keep asking when I might open a shop so that I can expand, so I am strongly considering the possibility.

As for LLC. I didn't want to go down that path after reading the info on the Kansas Sec of State site the following disadvantages -
1. Articles of Organization must state a date upon which the company will dissolve