PDA

View Full Version : Question about Domains and Trademark

Harold Mansfield
07-29-2010, 04:25 PM
I got 2 weird calls this week concerning domains that I own and asking if they were trademarked.
I always thought I understood the basics in that you can trademark anything that isn't previously held or pending but even if granted, it only applies to things forward of when it is approved or filed.
In other words, you can't go across the internet and trademark the names of existing websites and domains and then turn around and try and claim a violation to seize the domain.

Anyone have any experience with this or know how the law spells it out?

cbscreative
07-29-2010, 04:54 PM
I'm not an expert in this either, so hopefully David will show up with his usual wisdom. This was kind of covered when I was taking university classes a few years ago, but the emphasis was on copyrighting, and not much about trademarking was covered.

As I recall, the jury was still out on this issue in many regards because the law had (and still has) trouble keeping up with the Internet. Trademark cases were expensive and difficult. If someone were to have beaten McDonald's to mcdonalds.com for example, they would most likely lose but probably more because McDonald's has the clout than the fact that the law was really on MD's side. You pretty much had to prove intentional infringement is what I gathered, and that's obviously not an easy task.

The lesson for anyone with a trademark name is they had better be the first to register it or else risk losing it. If you have someone claiming trademark infringement, it's unlikely you have anything to worry about unless you deliberately took a well known name.

I can't think of any examples off hand, but there are some major companies who didn't get their trade name as a domain because they didn't act fast enough, and outside of bullying or paying an exorbitant price, they're unable to do anything about it.

Harold Mansfield
07-29-2010, 05:06 PM