PDA

View Full Version : Percentage of new partnership???

tdmillerjr
07-26-2010, 04:25 AM
I am wondering what percentage I should ask for in a new business partnership in a situation where the partner has an established small restaurant and has approached me in opening a small brewery. He has extra space attached to current building and this is where he wants to open brewery. He wants to sell the beer through his restaurant but he wants the two businesses to act as seperate entities. We are in the middle of forming an LLC and I was wondering since I am going to be the one making the goods for sale and paying for half of everything should I request more than a 51/49 split? I am wondering should I ask for 60/40 or what? I'm new to this and I don't want to hurt myself in the future if and when the business is very profitable. Any information would be a huge help. Thanks

Business Attorney
07-26-2010, 09:27 AM
There is no magic number in terms of ownership split. Some questions to consider: Will you be getting a market rate of salary or will you be contributing services in addition to cash? How much of the brewery's revenue is expected to be directly attributable to his existing restaurant? Are your skills unique?

Since this is all new to you, you should get help from professional experienced in these issues. There are a myriad of issues that you should be addressing in the LLC operating agreement besides the simple ownership split.

Good luck.

partnershipcoach
07-26-2010, 08:13 PM