PDA

View Full Version : What's your elevator speech?

Harold Mansfield
07-15-2010, 12:53 AM
I'm always curious what people say to describe themselves or their business, when it needs to be said quickly. I still struggle at times but I'm getting better.

On the spot and you have no time, how do you tell people what you do quickly and yet descriptive enough so that they walk away knowing exactly what it is?

Now this only works if everyone just lays it out straight without any lead in, or follow up explanation, or else there is no way to know if you are really getting the point across.

After you post yours, all by itself, then communicate normally in the thread and comment on others.
No cheating. You have to post it clean.

Harold Mansfield
07-15-2010, 12:55 AM
I'm a Freelance Web Consultant, specializing in Wordpress CMS.

billbenson
07-15-2010, 01:51 AM
I'm a Freelance Web Consultant, specializing in Wordpress CMS.

I say "I sell construction stuff on the web" I get the same blank look I bet you get eborg.

Harold Mansfield
07-15-2010, 01:57 AM
I say "I sell construction stuff on the web" I get the same blank look I bet you get eborg.

Pretty much. I then have to explain what Wordpress is..still blank..and then I say something like "it's pretty much an industry standard in web publishing used by companies like CNN, The New York Times, Harvard, NASA.."" and then I get , "OOHhhhh!. O.K."

Harold Mansfield
07-15-2010, 01:58 AM

Pretty much. I then have to explain what Wordpress is..still blank..and then I say something like "it's pretty much an industry standard in web publishing used by companies like CNN, The New York Times, Harvard, NASA.."" and then I get , "OOHhhhh!. O.K."

Patrysha
07-15-2010, 11:07 AM
My line is usually something along the lines of "I'm kind of like a whole marketing agency in one person...I work with small business owners to create marketing campaigns on tiny budgets"

Dan Furman
07-15-2010, 11:23 AM