PDA

View Full Version : Offering customers a discount

jimr451
05-27-2010, 09:24 AM
Hi all,

I'm a web consultant, established, with a decent list of small business clients. Many of my clients are repeat business - they come to me when they need advice, or want to add / change something about their website.

In the last month or so, business has hit the doldrums - few clients are doing new projects, and the number of new clients coming in has been slow as well.

Ok, so I'm thinking of offering this to my existing clients:

"Any work done during the month of June will receive a 15% discount."

Basically, I want to spur some projects, and rather than increase my advertising spending, why not offer my clients a nice discount? So, any work they have me do during June, they get a discounted rate.

Does anyone have thoughts on this? I've got a nagging feeling that there's a big downside here, but I can't really think of it (besides the money I'm giving away).

Thanks,

-Jim

Steve B
05-27-2010, 10:05 AM
I think it's a good idea.

The downside is that you might train your customers to wait until the next sale, but I think you can overcome that by making it clear that it's a one-time thing. If you do it too often, you'll have trouble getting your full price again.

Spider
05-27-2010, 10:55 AM
As Steve says, if you regularly give a discount - a weekly discount coupon, for example, you will never sell anything 'full price'.' In fact, you won't have a 'full price' - you will only have your regular (discounted) price. That's not necessarily bad - pizza and sandwich shops seem to do a lot of that and thrive. In your business, that might not be a good idea.

I think a one-off situation as you describe will be fine - especially if you explain it to your clients and play up on the reason to their advantage--