PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Company with Owners in PA and FL

wordybob
05-14-2010, 09:59 AM
Hi all,

I'm in the planning stages of starting a consulting firm with a partner and have a few questions I'm hoping you may be able to help with.

We are planning to offer corporate training/ web design/ social media marketing type services. The vast majority of the business would be conducted online. However, we would also like to have the option of conducting in-person training sessions. The potential exists for us to do business with clients nationwide.

The most difficult decision we seem to face at this point is where and how to incorporate. I live in Florida and my partner lives in Pennsylvania. I've been researching the requirements for incorporation in Nevada, Florida, and Pennsylvania. My preference is Nevada, due to the anonymity, as I am a professor, but some colleges frown on their faculty having outside business interests, so I would like to keep the consulting firm as anonymous as possible, at least until we can find out whether we can make a go of it.

From what I've been reading thus far, I'm leaning towards a LLC vs. an S corporation. However, should we incorporate in Nevada, it appears that we may be required to obtain a registered agent in Nevada, and also register as a foreign company in both PA and FL. Would that be correct? How would the nature of the business as an online one affect the state(s) in which we would incorporate, if at all?

I would greatly appreciate any information or advice that you may be able to offer!

phanio
05-14-2010, 11:47 AM
You are right on all points - you can register in NV - but will probably also have to file foreign status in the states that you have offices or conduct in person business. Each state just wants to make sure they get a piece of your pie.