PDA

View Full Version : Web-Based Voice Recording Options

jamestl2
04-02-2010, 10:22 PM
Hey guys,

A few months ago I had decided I wanted to create an audio-recording solution for an internship website that I had been working on for the past year. We had eventually switched the Site CMS over to Wordpress MU, and as far as I know, that's what it's still based on. After hours of additional searching for a specific solution, my internship professor had finally settled on the Riffly recording plugin (http://riffly.com/) recommendation, after heavily considering Javasonics (http://www.javasonics.com/). However these weren't quite the best solutions available, as he wanted the recordings to be better managed and self-hosted.

Basically we wanted a recording plugin that would allow users to leave recorded messages inside the comment template (As a comment, mostly). Also, the internship concluded once I graduated from college this past December, so this isn't something that I'm being required to do or has a deadline at the moment.

OK, all the boring history aside, here's my dilemma. I decided I wanted to create a WP plugin from scratch. The PHP and Database Interaction isn't likely going to be a problem for me, I can handle that aspect just fine. It's the client-side interaction that's going to give me the problems.

I've searched the web and apparently it's possible to create something like this in Flash or Java. I however, A) Have no experience with either of the languages and B) Don't have the resources to spend $700+ on an Adobe product that I'll likely only use once ever for this situation.