PDA

View Full Version : hiring a person for services and not as an employee

TheNewGuy
02-10-2010, 05:47 PM
I have a friend who is willing to do a few hours of clerical work for me, but I don't want to hire them as an employee. Can I pay them as a service and just write them a check and have them claim it on their personal taxes without any snafu's? I'm new to all this.

nealrm
02-10-2010, 11:31 PM
Here is a link to the IRS page that explains the difference between and independent contactor and an employee. Click Here (http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=99921,00.html)

In short I'm going to say that guy would be an employee.

Business Attorney
02-11-2010, 12:55 AM
A part time employee is still an employee. Offhand, it sounds like the person would be an employee. I have written an article on my website that discusses the various factors listed on the IRS web page that nealrm linked to: Independent Contractor or Employee? (http://www.illinoisbusinessattorney.com/articles/independent_contractor_vs_employee.html)

Steve B
02-11-2010, 04:32 AM
Is it going to be a few hours total - or a few hours a week on an ongoing basis?

If it's just a few hours in total for one specific project - then he may never work for you again - then I would just cut him a check and put it under Office Supplies or Misc. I'm sure this isn't the officially correct answer - but I would take my chances on something this small.

If it's going to be a few hours a week on an ongoing basis - it could be either. Depending on the amount of direction you give him - and several other factors that I'm sure are explained in David's article.

Spider
02-11-2010, 11:29 AM
I have often wondered about this - the situation seems most unclear to me. One may purchase a service - like an oil change for one's car - on a regular basis, without considering those people employees. Why would hiring someone on a regular basis to do one's books be considered an employee?