PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone turn their blog posts into articles?

KarenB
08-21-2008, 04:24 PM
As I am new to blogging, I'm not sure whether it's okay to take one's blog post and also submit it as an article to various sites.

My blog gets very little traffic because it's pretty new. At the same time, I would like to reach a wider audience.

I have to admit that my blog posts have been written in the same manner as if I had been writing an article. I'm just wondering whether I should have been differentiating more between the two.

Is a blog post essentially different from an article? If so, how is it different? Is it because it's less formal, not as lengthy, and is intended to invite comments?

I tend to thing of a blog as more of a friendly chat and less formal than an article, but I would still be communicating the same message.

Are there any golden rules that apply? Can an author post the same content to his/her blog as they would to an article?

Karen

KristineS
08-21-2008, 05:32 PM
I know people who have turned their blog posts into articles. It really depends on the goal of your blog. If you're hoping to build an image for your business and to make connections with clients, than you may want to go with a less formal, more chatty style. If the purpose of your blog is to inform, you might want to go with a more formal, article like style. I certainly think the same content can be used on a blog and in an article. You can even write an article, post it somewhere else, and use it to drive traffic back to your blog. Lots of people do that.

vangogh
08-22-2008, 07:00 PM
Karen I wouldn't take the exact post and submit it to an article directory. Search engines have no desire to show two pages of identical content in search results. The one they choose to show may not be yours.