PDA

View Full Version : How to change fiscal year in 1st year of ops

FABQuest
12-22-2009, 04:45 PM
Hello, this is my first post and really the reason I joined. I started a new company Feb of 09, structured as a C Corp so this is my first year of operation. I set up fiscal year end in QuickBooks as a normal calendar year, meaning my year ends Dec. 31st. I would like to change this to the end of January. Beyond the obvious QuickBooks update, do I need to submit a form or request this change from any government entity (IRS) etc.? I have heard that in your first year of business you just choose/change your date without further action....

Thanks,
FAB Quest Dave

The Entrepreneurs Network
12-22-2009, 05:24 PM
IRS guidelines on fiscal year definition can be found here:
Tax Years (http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98673,00.html)

The paragraph re changing the tax year reads as follows:

Changing your tax year
Once you have adopted your tax year, you may have to get IRS approval to change it. To get approval, you must file Form 1128, Application To Adopt, Change, or Retain a Tax Year (http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1128.pdf) (PDF). See the instructions for Form 1128 for exceptions. If you qualify for an automatic approval request, a user fee is not required. If you do not qualify for automatic approval, a ruling must be requested and a user fee is required. See the instructions for Form 1128 for information about user fees if you are requesting a ruling.

I hope this helps.

FABQuest
12-22-2009, 05:27 PM
This is really a stupid question, but where would have I elected my fiscal year date to begin with? EIN application? That has been my only IRS contact to date.

Evan
12-22-2009, 09:55 PM
You have NOT adopted a tax year simply by filing the SS-4.

Assuming there isn't a restriction otherwise on your type of business (probably not), you elect your tax year by filing the 1120. To change it, you'd need to file the 1128.