PDA

View Full Version : Joomla anyone?

Patrysha
12-11-2009, 12:13 AM
I've been hired to write articles/web copy for the Electrolysis Society of Alberta.

The president wants to maintain the current designer but try some of my ideas as far as building up the content and usefulness of the site. So I have to upload these files and it's in Joomla which I have never used before.

I've downloaded the user manual and it seems fairly easy to get around...however...

There are a few things I can't figure out how to do. Like change whatever needs to be changed so the browser title shows the page title and not the generic page (like Home).

I think I may have a few questions like that over the next couple of days.

I've promised not to touch the design itself, but the guy didn't even have the URL's set to search friendly when it's a simple click to set it in place. (And that got me to wondering is there ever a reason why you wouldn't do that??)

Anyway if there is anyone around who knows anything that can help me, I'd appreciate it!

vangogh
12-11-2009, 02:26 AM
I haven't used Joomla myself. I've looked at it a couple of times, but didn't care much for it. I tend to be a WordPress guy.

As far as setting the URLs to be search friendly, I can't think of why you wouldn't do that when setting up the site. Now that the site is up and running and probably getting some search traffic you want to be careful about changing URLs since they're seen as completely new pages by search engines. That doesn't mean you can't change them. I's just that you want to make sure the old URLs are permanently redirected to the new URLs. Joomla's system may and probably does do that, but you'd want to make sure. If it doesn't then you'd want to set up the redirection on your own.

Odds are Joomla's system does rewrite the URLs using 301 (permanent) redirects.