PDA

View Full Version : golden time...

greenoak
12-07-2009, 09:52 AM
this time of year is golden to me....the numbers come in, i can look at the shelves and see what happened with my product picks.., its year end!!!! i do a lot of the yearly plan at this time....when all the parts of last years plan come to light....what worked and what didnt..what we have too much of what we didnt get enough of...... what the state of the store is...how bad last year really was....what saved us...dh says we cut our spending to adjust to the horrible reality this last year....
and what my goals should be for the coming year with all that in mind....
we have new issues this coming year....good ones....my health insurance is off the table....turned 65...thats about 800 a month..
we are trying for almost a month off in january...im dreading it... im not good at vacations....but we have a great crew, not really worried there....
and budgeting....i have never used one...and need to get some basic idea of one to put into the store.... my way of buying has worked but i think its time to figure out an equation..

so basically im having fun right now trying to sift thru everything and come up with a great recipe for 2010...and im bugging everybody here at the store for their opinions on everything... im asking them hard questions....like what worked best this year? etc etc...

Spider
12-07-2009, 09:59 AM
That's wonderful, Ann! I'm so pleased that you go through this subjective analysis. Good for you! I get the impression that most small businesses just sigh a sigh of relief that the year is over, then take a break before starting on their tax preparation for April. That's how to carry last year's problems into the future.

I like your way best. I wish you "good decisions" and a prosperous 2010.

KristineS
12-07-2009, 10:35 AM