PDA

View Full Version : Forming C-Corporation entity

ravenrose
10-27-2009, 01:38 PM
Hello all. I'm glad to have joined the forums. I was seeking advice on business matters. I've been always wanting to start up a business since forever. I have been working on my plans for several months and want to start my business for the new year. For those who operate C-Corporation structure, I'd like to know what do you guys put down as Director(s) of Corporation, President, Treasurer, Secretary and Officer(s) positions if there's just two people involved at this time but may expand in the future if the business takes off? Do I have to name all shareholders? Do you use yourself as Registered Agent or choose someone else if you're conducting your business in state?

Regarding fees: once you incorporate, is it one time thing or what fees that has to be paid annually (ie: in state filing)? Besides taxes and local business fees, that is. Also, corporate minutes has to be maintained as well?

Which incorporation provider do you use? I was referred to LegalZoom because it includes a package that is handy for anyone who incorporates. I also heard of Nolo and BizFilings. What's your preference?

Thanks for all of your feedback on this. I wish you all continued success in your endeavors. :)

Business Attorney
10-27-2009, 05:26 PM
First, corporate law varies from state to state, so without knowing your specific state, be aware that the answer could be different.

In most states, if not all, you can name the same person to multiple offices. Many states used to require that the President and Secretary be different people, but that requirement has generally been removed.

As long as you have a physical address in the state of your incorporation, you can be your own registered agent. There are some advantages to having another party such as your attorney or a professional registered agent company act as registered agent, but there is no need to do so in many cases.