PDA

View Full Version : Question for Established E-tailers

Nox
10-06-2009, 12:48 PM
Hi all. I'm new to the forums but not new to the world of e-commerce and stuff. Currently, I work as a FT webmaster at the current company I work for. But I've been working on my biz plan to launch my startup biz online for a while.

I got a question for you all who have been running online biz first few years. I'm curious about how long does it take before you actually quit your full time (or part time) employment once your online biz is running and bringing in profits? I do understand that all businesses are different but I'm just asking in general, not focusing on any type of biz. TIA.

vangogh
10-06-2009, 01:15 PM
That's a hard question to answer, since I think it comes down to personal things as much as business. The smart and practical answer is you should probably wait until your business is making enough money to replace most or all of your salary or you should wait until you have X months of savings.

In my case I did neither. A big part of my choice in running my own business is the lifestyle. I hated going into an office all day. It drained me and left me with little energy to get a business going on the side. A few years back I got laid off a couple times over the course of a few years. Once because the company wasn't doing well and let most everyone go and once because IBM bought the company I was working for an we made a competing product that was no longer necessary. It happens.

After the second layoff I decided that instead of looking for another job I would start my own businesses. It was something I had wanted to do for years anyway and the timing seemed right. I didn't have much in savings and I had little knowledge about how to run a business. What I did have was a lot of confidence in myself and not a lot of need for material things. I made very little money early on while I figured things out and somehow I managed to find a way to pay the bills.