PDA

View Full Version : Single person business

Dan F
10-04-2009, 01:32 PM
Hi!

Well, I've been doing computer servicing for almost two years now. I've only too advertising seriously since last year. I've been wondering how to advertise if you're a one person business. Using 'we' gives people the impression that it's an experienced business.

So, simple question. If I had to say that I do computer repairs should I use 'We fix computers', or 'I fix computers'. Not necessarily this phrase, it's just an example.

Harold Mansfield
10-04-2009, 02:38 PM
Hi!

Well, I've been doing computer servicing for almost two years now. I've only too advertising seriously since last year. I've been wondering how to advertise if you're a one person business. Using 'we' gives people the impression that it's an experienced business.

So, simple question. If I had to say that I do computer repairs should I use 'We fix computers', or 'I fix computers'. Not necessarily this phrase, it's just an example.

That's always a tough one that I go back and forth on my self. In my case, I can and will do most of the work, although I have others that I can call on to outsource specialized services so on the "company" website I use "we". On my personal website (just me as a freelancer) I only promote the serves that I can do without outsourcing any work, so on there I use "I".

I know everyone doesn't have multiple websites, so I would say that if it's truly just you, then there is nothing wrong with saying that. Single person businesses usually make that point by titling the business in their name.

You don't want to give the impression that there are others, if in fact there really isn't...someone may call you on it and that would look unprofessional.

JMO of course.

Spider
10-04-2009, 02:53 PM