PDA

View Full Version : Regular client asks you to match competitor

cocoy
09-24-2009, 04:20 PM
Ever had a regular client asks you to match a competitor's price. Would you if it was still profitable? Or do you stand firm and let them go.

I had a conversation with someone who said, "I'm loyal, so I'll ask if my regular vendor can lower the price to match first. If not, then I'll switch."

I guess overall profit trumps loyalty. If that's a definition of loyalty. :)

It's a business, so I understand if they go with the lower priced vendor who can provide the same product.

Dan F
09-24-2009, 05:41 PM
I'm still new to business, but most probably you're offering something better than your competitors... at least that's what I do and try to spread the world about it. If this is the case, I hope :), tell your client what you actually do BETTER than your competitor hence the price ;)

I'm not sure if it's a good idea to give him a discount this time only... will have to wait for the experienced for the advice.

Evan
09-24-2009, 07:37 PM
No, I wouldn't match their price. Though many are price cognizant though, and driven by the cheapest.

Let's say you're looking for a big bag of M&Ms. You could go to the grocery store and pay a premium. Most convenience stores (CVS, WalGreens, etc.) also charge a premium, but may have it slightly cheaper. You could get it at an office supply store (which is usually more than the grocery store), or from a "big box shop" such as Target or WalMart for real cheap.

Well, sure I can spend $2.99 for a big bag of M&Ms at WalMart, but is it convienent for me to drive there and wait in line for the item? No.

If I'm placing an order for office supplies with Staples or such, it seems quite easier to just add the bag of M&Ms then because while it's not the cheapest, it is most convienent.

Bottom line: Your paying for the customer experience, the preceived value, and the overall delivery. Take it, or leave it.

Spider
09-24-2009, 07:48 PM