PDA

View Full Version : New S-Corp in NV formed, now what??

scorpboy
09-23-2009, 08:18 PM
My Dad and I have been running a sole proprietorship (him) for the past several years. We just became an S-Corp in NV on the advice of our CPA. I am all of the officers of the corp because Dad is retiring "early" and there are some rules he has to follow by the SSA for social security.

I need to bone up on all of these new requirements and procedures for having an S-Corp. For example, getting paid was just a matter of taking a draw from the business checking account to the personal account whenever he/we needed it and those draws were his income. With the corp. do I have to be paid a regular salary like a W-2 employee? Payroll?

What I'm really looking for is a good book that goes into detail about what to do AFTER the incorporation has already been done. I see so many books about LLC vs Corp, and deciding on what structure to use, etc. But I'm having trouble finding something good about the things I need to do once I am incorporated.

We're an ecommerce business that sells tangible books and DVDs. I will be using Quickbooks and plan to hire one of those Pro Advisors to come in and set up everything correctly so hopefully that will take a load off..

Can someone point me in the right direction?

vangogh
09-23-2009, 08:34 PM
This is hardly my area of expertise, but I thought I'd respond quick so your thread stays active. We have a few members here who do have some expertise in the legal and accounting and hopefully they'll notice this thread before too long.

I did quick search for 'rules for an s-corp' and did see plenty of results. You may have already done the same, but hopefully some of the results will lead you down the right path.

I also did a quick search at Amazon for 's-corp' and there were quite a few books listed. The first few results had 4 and 5 star reviews so there's probably something in there that would be good.