PDA

View Full Version : spam suggestion

billbenson
09-19-2009, 03:37 PM
I've been having a lot of spam that isn't getting caught by my email programs spam filter. Several hundred per day recently. A real pain.

I enabled spam assassin on my web site. That dropped it to 5 last night, so that works well.

I have a contact us link in two places on my web site. One is a form and the other uses javascript to hide it, so it's difficult to harvest the emails from the site. Since I don't want to miss any emails coming from the site that could be caught by a spam filter, I receive the emails from my web site on an email that I never send from. That keeps that email from getting into spam lists. Emails for spam purposes are often collected by spyware / viruses that harvest emails from Outlook address books. I've been doing this for several years and still no incoming emails on that email account. Its new mail from my site, so I don't want to miss any of those.

Just a couple of thoughts for cutting spam down.

vangogh
09-19-2009, 04:37 PM
Good ideas Bill. One thing I've found is which mail server you're using can control a lot of what spam gets through. For example gmail has always down a good job catching the spam without me ever seeing it. Sometimes the specific server my own domain is on does a better job than other servers of catching spam too. My site has been on several servers over the years and without me changing any settings I can tell that spam was less or more on some of them.

As an aside I have a contact form on my site that does lead to quite a bit of spam. It's a simple php mail script and I could easily edit the script to filter out some obvious spam, but it's kind of fun to get in this case. Some of the spam is very funny. It's also useful. I get a fair amount of spam where the person sending it thought they were creating a post on a forum. I've actually caught a few spammers here, because they also hit the contact form on my site.

billbenson