PDA

View Full Version : Please review and/or suggest improvements for this product description

SumpinSpecial
05-29-2018, 08:02 AM
One of my new products has been getting really high page visits ever since I listed it, but no purchases. A few days ago I tweaked the description to make it more appealing and customer-friendly. (The original was copied from the manufacturer's website, and overly technical.) Copywriting is something I'm still learning to do well. Can you guys take a look and let me know if you think it reads well now, or is it still bad?

You can find it here. (https://www.somethingspecialpetsupplies.com/collections/featured-products/products/bird-dog-life-jacket)

Harold Mansfield
05-29-2018, 10:15 AM
All the elements are there, I would just rearrange some and make others more pronounced.

1. *I would make the price bigger, bolder and a dark shade of green or a color that matches your design.

2. The video is good and short. I would lead with the video before anything else. Good video helps people imagine themselves using the product.

3. I would make my featured (lead) image one with an actual dog, not the graphic. I think the close up of the dog on the rock by the water, or the dog in the hat on the grass are the 2 best.

4. *I'd make your add to cart buttons a different color. Something darker that's easier to see and stand out but still matches the design. The white text against that light yellow/goldish color can be hard to see and appears passive. Even a darker shade of that would be better.

5. Maybe try different copy on your buttons. Instead of "Add to cart", try "Buy Now". Or both. Try an add to cart button at the top and a buy now after the full description.

The call to action should be the last thing. Don't make them have to think and scroll back up. Make it a fluid motion that ends with an option to get the item now, and complete that transaction in as few steps as possible.