PDA

View Full Version : Together we can make this project work...

Safety Guy
09-15-2009, 11:34 AM
I introduced myself in the intro thread, but for those of you who didn't read it, I am a novice at this and use layperson vocabulary.

However, I am a quick learner and really need your help in making this site as successful as we can make it.

WARNING: My story below...

I am a successful middle school band director of 16 yrs and I love it. However, I have been hired by my neighbor, who owns a Safety Consulting business and needed a little economic boost. Who doesn't, right? Well, that's why I took on the challenge...

Anyway, I started in his office just filing papers, but I needed to more so I started trying to find leads using craigslist, indeed, and others.
Ideas just started flowing and I found myself asking questions like, "what if I started networking on forums?" and "what if this" and "what if that"...

Which then led me into posting services that started turning up on Google's searches... Mark and Walt, my neighbor and his father who own and run the company, got excited that I was able to build their manpower and expose their company's name without huge expenses and low returns they were getting from the newspaper and yellowbook. I figured it to just be common sense.

I started "advertising" everywhere and started learning/knowing the sites that would consistantly show my posts and ads on the first page of a google search. Then, I started adding links to the website in the posts and forums and blogs OH MY!!!! Now I have stuff out there all over the place.

The company's current site is not good to say the least. It's like 3 very blue pictures out in internetland that do nothing. Unless there is an organic google search for it.

Mark and Walt have really liked the return on the work that I have done outside of the official site so much that they have hired a major website company to rebuild the official site that will actually work for them.