PDA

View Full Version : Estimated Taxes

bacterozoid
09-01-2009, 08:45 PM
I'm beginning to get a monopoly on this category :)

I'm a little confused about estimated taxes. I found a couple good articles on how they work and am confident I can figure them out in time...but as I've never done it before, I'm a little confused about them.

As a sole proprietor, do I pay estimated taxes on my entire income? So, instead of doing my income taxes at the end of the year, I do my income taxes every quarter...including Schedule C and Schedule SE...right? Does that mean I could potentially get a refund check every quarter? I don't claim anything on my full time job taxes and don't make a lot right now on the side...

Also, what happens if I over-estimate my business profit? Do I make that adjustment at the end of the year?

I'm learning...once I've done it once or twice I'll have a better idea about this. Thanks again!

vangogh
09-01-2009, 09:42 PM
You're really just making an estimate of what you think you'll earn and then you can adjust it each quarter. If this is your first year in business you can probably get away without having to file any estimated taxes. However you'll still have to pay in April so you may decide it's better to pay something now.

Form 1040es (http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040es.pdf?portlet=3) (links directly to PDF for 209) has a worksheet. It's pretty easy to fill out. You start with an estimate of the money you'll make as an individual from your business and then follow along with the instructions to determine what you're payments should be. Each year I believe you have to pay at least what you paid the year before, but ideally you'll have to pay more since you're making more money.