PDA

View Full Version : Web Design Freelancing

bacterozoid
08-20-2009, 10:37 AM
I'm interested in starting a web design business but I'm really not sure about some things. I'm just one guy doing this in my spare time from my home.

Do I have to form a "real business" and is there any benefit for me in doing this? I know that by forming a LLC, if I get sued my personal assets are protected. I don't plan on being sued, but I imagine it could happen to anyone.

What about finances? When I make money, how does all that work? If I just do this myself, I would report my additional income on my Indiana tax forms. Is there some benefit to being a business? Can I do the tax forms and stuff myself or do I need a lawyer?

I'm new to all this but would love to do this full time one day. I appreciate any help you folks can offer!

Also, I know nothing quite replaces the value of a face-to-face with a real lawyer, but I need to get the facts before I shell out the cash for something like that.

vangogh
08-20-2009, 11:45 AM
Welcome to the forum bacterozoid.

You don't have to file paperwork to declare yourself a business, though I think it's a good idea. You have choices about what kind of business you want to be as well. THe LLC does offer some limited protection. You should think about what kind of personal assets you have in order to decide if they need protection. For example if you own a house you wouldn't want to lose it, but you wouldn't be worrying about your collection of CDs and DVDs so much.

The easiest type of business to form is to set yourself up as a sole proprietor. You basically fill out a trade name with your state and you're in business. You can find the info on how at the dept of state for the state you live in. Here in Colorado registering a trade name cost me $8, which an occasional renewal for $1.