PDA

View Full Version : Logo Copywriting

InkBlotAquatics
09-16-2016, 10:00 AM
Or is it trademarking, registering, ect. I am pretty new to the legal stuff...

I am purchasing a logo from a freelance graphic designer via the fiverr.com website. Great website to get just about anything done for free btw!

Here is what is listed as including for most of these jobs.

Logo Package
Editable Source File
3D Mockup
High Resolution
Logo Transparency
Vector Source File
1 Logo Included
3 Revisions

Now my question is, is this enough for me to take legal ownership of this logo and copyright and trademark it on my own? Or do I need any documentation from the seller other than our sales contract.

nealrm
09-16-2016, 10:14 AM
Logos can and should be both copyrighted and trademarked. The trademark states that the logo represents your company and other similar companies cannot use it. The copyright means that you own the logo and no one cannot copy of use it without permission.

Copyrights have to be specifically sold in a contract. Somewhere in the paperwork it must state that the copyright is transferred to you. Otherwise they still own it and can sell or license it to others.

vangogh
09-16-2016, 10:21 AM
You might read through the terms of service page (https://www.fiverr.com/terms_of_service) on Fiverr.

Fiverr's TOS grants you, the buyer, the copyright for the work you buy, but the seller can override that generality on their seller page. So it depends on who you hire.

It will also depend a little on the specifics of the logo and who creates it. I'm sure you've heard the saying, "You get what you pay for." When you spend $5 on a logo, there's a good chance the person creating the logo is taking shortcuts like using stock images and graphics. In that case the company that created the original stock image or graphic owns their work even if it's used in your logo.

InkBlotAquatics
09-16-2016, 10:28 AM