PDA

View Full Version : And so it Begins

Fulcrum
07-11-2016, 07:07 PM
Time to build a website.

Registered some domains (even figured out how to park one and have it redirect to the other) and setup hosting (went with Bluehost as shared hosting is good 'nough for now)late last week. I am glad that I setup a separate email account for this as the spam is off the charts.

Now it's time to figure out Wordpress and start building.

turboguy
07-11-2016, 10:34 PM
Congratulations on taking the plunge Brad. WordPress seems a little daunting at first but once you get it all figured out it is pretty easy to work with. I have two WordPress sites finished and 4 more to do but I am on a break until my busy season is over. Feel free to post if you get stuck on anything. You are also welcome to PM me if I can help in any way. I am not an expert at it but do have it pretty well figured out. I may post a little more late tomorrow.

Fulcrum
07-12-2016, 07:50 AM
Thanks Ray.

Glad to hear your busy. My traditional slow time just started and it hit with both barrels. Of course, the fact I might be moving the shop and setting up a factory direct sales room are going to complicate things slightly.

vangogh
07-12-2016, 10:16 AM
I'll echo what Ray said. Wordpress might seem confusing at first, but it isn't that hard. A lot of what you see when you login, you won't need to work with. Once you know where the things you do need are located, it'll become easier.

Have you installed WordPress yet? Bluehost probably has an option to install with a click or two.

Definitely ask questions if you have any. There are enough of us here using WordPress that we should be able to walk you through any problems you'll encounter.

Harold Mansfield
07-12-2016, 12:08 PM
Glad to see you lit the match. As VG said plenty of WordPress people around, just ask. Also thumbs up on the hosting. Been setting clients up there for years and rarely have any problems with their shared hosting.

KristineS