PDA

View Full Version : Please review my website

peter12
06-28-2016, 01:05 PM
Hi guys,

As most of you I'm also a small business owner. I own a small man and van company based in London and trying to expand my business and to get more moving jobs. As a result I'm trying to build a great looking website and therefor spent a small fortune on building it. Can you please review it here (https://www.moving-van.org.uk/) and share your thoughts. And please - be honest, because I need to hear real opinions to be able to fix all design issues.

Regards,
Peter

Harold Mansfield
06-28-2016, 02:57 PM
Overall it's a decent site. You've checked off the boxes, but I think you could improve engagement by just making some simple changes.

Above the fold you can make it easier for people to do business with you immediately and not have to scroll or look around.

If it were my site, I'd open with a larger image of 2 guys, and the van, areas served, maybe a map of the service area (all in one image), and have the contact form right over the image to the right.
That way someone scrolling through websites looking for a service has all of the information right in their face. Size of truck and what it looks like, areas served, kinds of things you move, phone number. Those are the things they want to know immediate and that you can say in very few words with the right image.

There may be some other ways I'd simplify the home page and utilize your images and bullet points better, and clean up the sidebar, but I think the top is what stands out most. Too much introduction and promotion. If you are targeting properly to have gotten them to the site, you can just get straight to the point.

You can say a lot with a little with smarter structure and organization.

JMO of course.

turboguy
06-28-2016, 02:59 PM