PDA

View Full Version : What website design skills are in demand?

Jagella
07-11-2009, 11:20 AM
As a web designer, I'm always trying to not only learn new skills but to learn what skills I need to learn. Of course, the demand for these skills is dictated by the market. I recently started an account with Elance.com, and I immediately noticed that they provide numerical data on their Web and Programming page for skills that are in demand. After some number crunching, I calculated the percentage of the total that each skill on that page represents. (1) Here's the breakdown of the skills and their percentages of the total:

10.92% PHP
8.92% HTML
7.98% SQL
6.40% MySQL
6.20% Flash
5.45% CSS
4.72% SEO
4.08% .NET
3.66% WordPress
2.79% C
2.70% AJAX
2.60% Joomla!
2.58% Java
2.18% Web Services
2.18% ASP
2.13% XHTML
2.07% Social Networking
2.05% Windows
2.02% Adobe Flash
2.02% iPhone
1.90% XML
1.88% Facebook
1.60% Twitter
1.56% PayPal
1.37% ASP.NET
1.26% JavaScript
1.16% Linux
1.09% Drupal
0.95% RSS
0.78% SQL Server
0.68% osCommerce
0.59% Apache
0.53% CRM
0.51% DHTML
0.50% Google Website Optimizer

So what can I make of these results? Most of what I came up with is not surprising. I'm well aware that PHP, HTML, MySQL, Flash, CSS, and SEO, of course, are common skills that are in demand. It's a good idea for any web developer to be proficient in most of these skills.

I may be just a bit surprised by some of what I'm seeing, though. JavaScript, for instance, at 1.26 percent is lower on the list than what I thought it might be. I'm also new to some of these technologies such as Joomla and Drupal. Wordpress, a relatively new technology, seems to be really taking off at 3.66 percent.

Anyway, I hope this information is useful to the web developers in this forum. You can never know too much about web development, and this information proves it.

Jagella

(1) Elance | Find jobs. Deliver great work. Get paid for results. (http://www.elance.com/) , (Accessed 7/11/2009)

Patrysha