PDA

View Full Version : Paths that led to business

Patrysha
07-09-2009, 09:46 PM
A comment on another post where Dan was saying that freelance programming led to copywriting sparked this question...

I was about to add to that thread and then just decided to start a new one...

I started in business by providing home childcare and that over the course of 12 years and some pretty interesting side-trips led me to the marketing and publicity I do today.

What about everyone else? What led you into the business you're in?

Dan Furman
07-09-2009, 10:03 PM
GREAT topic!!!

I was an e-commerce programmer at a large company (EDI mapping, and specifically with a particular platform).

One day, I got a call from a consultant in Florida - he had a client who used the same software, and needed EDI translation (the data maps I made.) He saw my postings on a forum devoted to this software (where I was answering everyone's questions) and figured I knew what I was doing. He asked if I was up for doing a small job, and I said "sure" because hey, I had the mapping software at home, I could e-mail the data map... Nice way to make an extra grand.

So the next day, I get fired. In between thinking "@#$%, not again", I had this little job for the client in Florida. I did the job, they were thrilled I got it done so fast, and said "hey, we need a LOT more of these."

So I figured there must be other companies who needed the same. The mapper was horribly complicated to use, and I could do the data maps for about half the price the company who developed the software could (and still make a nice living.) So I made a crude website, used adwords, and started picking up about a client a month - more than enough for me. Things were great for awhile.

Then, the software was phased out, and I was no longer this big fish in a little pond (the new software was MUCH easier.) I knew things would dry up, so I'd better do something else.