PDA

View Full Version : You Know You're a Crazy Self-Employed Person When...

Blessed
06-29-2009, 08:39 PM
...you have surgery, pop a few pain pills and keep on working.

So, I had a baby on June 17th - had quite a bit of excitement in the hospital (if you really want to know you can read about it here (http://crazydogslife.blogspot.com/2009/06/too-much-excitement-at-hospital-baby.html)) and still put in a six hour day one day in the hospital, then pulled about a 60 hour week last week too. Including an all-nighter on Thursday night to have a newspaper to the printer by Friday morning. I knew ahead of time that this month was going to be busy but "knowing" and "doing" are two different things.

Granted, I'm a graphic designer - my work is not strenuous or physically demanding, but still...

Anyway - my point is that to me this is no big deal - I have clients, they have projects that need to be done now so I'm working. My clients like me, like my work and are happy they didn't have to find anyone else to try to get this done. Other people I know who are not self-employed are appalled that I'm working - they keep asking when I'm going to take some time off. I saw my doctor today for a follow-up and apparently the nurses are still talking about me - in part because I "died" for 10 seconds in the OR but mostly because I was up working the next morning while I fed my baby. I have a job to do so I'm doing it - is that attitude something that only crazy self-employed people have or am I a work-aholic?

Patrysha
06-30-2009, 12:13 AM
I was not that dedicated to work!!

I took time off for mine - sort of. When I had my first baby back when EI only paid out for six months (now it is one year). But while I had an income I started preparing for my first home based business about a week after the first was born.
I continued operations until the day after my second was born.