PDA

View Full Version : First Computer Experience

Steve B
08-14-2008, 06:03 AM
I thought I'd piggyback off of something that David Staub included in his post where he shared his first computer experiences. I'm curious about others - of course, this will give away your age.

Mine was in the late 70's when my friend got a Timex computer from RadioShack for Christmas. I don't think he ever opened it. Then I took a programming class (Basic) in high school and learned basic programming on a couple terminals that used the modems where you put the whole receiver in those rubber cups.

As an undergraduate I did everything on a typewriter (1980-1984).

Then I bought a Commodore 64 when I got to graduate school in 1986. I wrote my papers on it and used a daisy wheel printer because I thought the dot matrix printers looked fake.

At my first real job I got in trouble for programming our pension calculations in Lotus 123. I was told we would lose our "girls" if I didn't give them work to do (I eliminated the need for several steps and no longer used the secretary for anything). I also used to find my boss checking the calculations with an adding machine after everyone went home (that's when I decided I better find another job!).

Blessed
08-14-2008, 08:00 AM
We were given our first computer when I was in high school by a wealthy relative who had just bought themselves a new computer. I took typing in high school and we used word processors. I graduated in 1993. There were a lot of computers around and college kids figured they needed one but I don't remember any laptops. My sisters are all in college now and they all "needed" a laptop. It didn't take long for some things to change!