PDA

View Full Version : New Business help...

chrisb514
06-22-2009, 12:09 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm looking to start a new business selling sports merchandise and apparel. I am currently in the field of construction and recently received a dramatic pay decrease and as I think about it more and more I am not sure is this the career for me long term. I have very little experience in running a small business. So, I was hoping many of you could provide me with some advice on where to begin. I am in the process of doing research on running my own business. Looking to take some courses maybe. A big concern of mine is I don't have much money to get started and looking for alternative options to start this business venture. I am looking for any advice, tips, hints, warnings, etc. that might help make this easier. I would like to thank all of you in advance for taking the time out to help me. I really appreciate it.

Thanks,
Chris

dynocat
06-22-2009, 01:00 AM
Congratulations! Whether or not you carry it out, checking our your options for self employment is always worthwhile.

Are you considering an online store you could run part time while you're still working? Or are you thinking of a brick and mortar store?

With your pay increase, could you set aside a certain amount for a few months while you're doing your research, courses, etc.?

If you're looking to sell merchandise, you might consider getting manufacturers who drop ship so you don't have to invest in inventory. You already have the line of products so you'd could investigate the companies who offer that.

I'm sure others will offer more suggestions. I just happened to get here first. :)

Best of luck to you.

GBlack
06-22-2009, 06:40 AM
Chris,