PDA

View Full Version : Hi...im a newbie and need some help

Damints
11-14-2015, 07:25 PM
Hi...i started a manufacturing business about 2 years ago.i manufacture candy. I was running a one man operations.never really had any and stil dont have any structures in place.but now after 2 years id like to change that.i teally hope somebody can help me.

Since it started becoming too much for me i decided to employ a sales rep. His only working for a week now.

1. How do i motivate him to increase sales.
2. How do i keep track of whatever he does.... like how many customers his seen... how does he spend the day....he uses his own personal car and i cover his fuel.he works for a basic plus commission. How do i keep track of his business mileage since i am paying the fuel. How do i know his using the fuel money for business only...
3.i really dont have an accounting background but from what i see i have made some money in my business. But now how do i structure things together.basically keeping track of finances.
4.since it is a manufacturing business how do i work the yield and keep track of inventory of raw materials and finished goods. Dont really have a budget now to invest in a manufacturing software
How do i keep track of it all manually.

Sorry for such a long post but really gope someone can help and probably il have plenty more questions in the future.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and hope you wil help. Any help whatsoever.

vangogh
11-15-2015, 10:56 AM
Welcome to the forum Damints. I'll do my best to help answer your questions.

1. Sales people often work for a percentage of the sales they make. You could offer a regular salary + a percentage of each sale or just the percentage of sales. That way the more he sales, the more money he makes. Reading your second question I see you do offer a commission on sales. If your employee isn't motivated to sell more when he earns a commission, you might need to find another sales person.