PDA

View Full Version : Business Idea Validation

amyrabbit
07-05-2015, 04:28 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this game, or should I say I've been trying to get a business started for about a year, but for one reason of another it hasn't happened yet, not beyond the business plan in any case.

I have in fact 3 ideas that I feel are worth pursuing but one that I hope will be the winner and the one I make the priority. I'm just at the point where I need to test the validity. What are everyones thoughts on the landing page to test conversion/hit rates (my business is an I.T service). I feel more comfortable exposing my ideas to the public if the public think my idea is just about to launch as opposed to a twinkle in one's eye; if you catch my drift.

Any other ideas for testing validity without exposing too much? (reason being this will require a fair amount of capital and it might take me some time to obtain)

Thanks!!

Freelancier
07-05-2015, 09:11 AM
The only validation you really want is to find good-paying customers who value what you're offering. Everything else is a data point with lesser validity. I had a LOT of customers for my consulting business tell me before I launched a software product that they needed what I was creating... none actually bought it, though.

Harold Mansfield
07-05-2015, 09:55 AM
You could create a working prototype and test with focus groups.
You could talk to a consultant to play devils advocate and see it the idea is in fact original, doesn't already exist or is already outdated.
You could talk to people in the industry to get opinions.

Ultimately you can't both keep it a secret and get opinions. And even if you get opinions, it doesn't mean the idea will work one way or the other.
You don't really know until you get off the pot and get the product out there.

vangogh
07-05-2015, 11:12 AM
but for one reason of another it hasn't happened yet, not beyond the business plan in any case.