PDA

View Full Version : Securing operating credit prior to purchasing existing small business

mattpro
06-24-2015, 01:29 AM
Greetings, fellow businessers! :) I am new to this forum and already it has been a wealth of information!

I'm still somewhat new to the small business world and I would love some advice. My boss is getting ready to retire I have an opportunity to buy the small tech business I currently work for. The actual cost of buying the business will be financed through the current owner, but the owner want's to see that my business partner and I can secure the necessary line(s) of credit to operate the business (to handle cashflow fluctuations and carrying customers on net terms) before we can proceed. The target is a minimum of $200K available credit -- ideally $300K.

My question is this: What would be a reasonable way to go about this? I understand that this credit is critical to successfully operating this business, but how can I go about getting that much credit to operate a business when I don't have any legal ownership of the business? Is this a common expectation when acquiring a small business?

I have already tried talking to two banks, one national and one local, but they have been vague and very slow to respond. Mostly I want to make sure I have realistic expectations going into this since I don't really have a point of reference currently.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Fulcrum
06-24-2015, 08:23 AM
Getting that much credit is going to be hard to get unless you have a lot of high dollar collateral and can prove that you have the ability to pay it off.

From my own experience, banks are not willing to extend any credit to my business (aside from a useless $500 credit card). This extends to machine financing, mortgages, operating lines, and overdraft.

mattpro
06-24-2015, 09:53 PM
Getting that much credit is going to be hard to get unless you have a lot of high dollar collateral and can prove that you have the ability to pay it off.